Paresh Rawal

Underlying Philosophy

What is the purpose of life?


This has been the most fundamental question of human existence. Since ages humans have pondered the beauty of open sky and wondered about their existence. Many philosophers have tried to answer this fundamental question in their own way, some say:

  • The purpose of life is to live (enjoy) – YOLO (You Only Live Once)
  • There is no other purpose of life – we have to just survive and reproduce
  • The purpose of life is to find the purpose of Life

The Indian spiritual texts have clearly mentioned the road map for our life. They have simplified the purpose of life which takes care of both, our immediate and higher purpose of Life.

They are called the 4 Purusharths of our Life:

  • Dharma (Righteousness)
  • Artha (Financial)
  • Kaam (Desires)
  • Moksha (Transendence)

Dharma – duties, rights, laws, conduct, virtues and right way of living as well as behaviours that enable social order. It should not be understood as a synonym of religion.

Artha – signifies the “means of life”, activities and resources that enables one to be in a state one wants to be in. Artha incorporates wealth, career, activity to make a living, financial security and economic prosperity.

Kama – signifies desire, wish, passion, emotions, pleasure of the senses, the aesthetic enjoyment of life, affection, or love, with or without sexual connotations.

Moksha – signifies emancipation, liberation or release. In some schools of Hinduism, moksha connotes freedom from saṃsāra, the cycle of death and rebirth, while in others moksha connotes freedom, self-knowledge, self-realization and transcendence in this life.

These 4 Purusharths established in Vedic texts helps us understand the very purpose of our existence. So, based on these values I have designed various modules which shall help you attain both your immediate and your higher purpose of existence with ease.